• 💖 [Donate To Keep MyPTSD Online] 💖 Every contribution, no matter how small, fuels our mission and helps us continue to provide peer-to-peer services. Your generosity keeps us independent and available freely to the world. MyPTSD closes if we can't reach our annual goal.

22 Year Old With PTSD

Status
Not open for further replies.

star_cutie08

New Here
I was searching through PTSD sites tonight and happened upon this one. I was having one of my nights, and it wasn't helped when I heard the song "Dance with my father again" thought not for the fact that my father is dead, thought in a way he is to me.

Some information on me. Like is says I am 22 years old. I have two sisters, both younger. When I went to college, I only went about 45 mins away from home.

My story:
It was almost five years ago. I was a freshman in college and happy to get away from home. Finals were a month away and I had called my mom at work to talk to her. Right before I hung up she got really serious. "I need to talk to you tonight," She told me. But I just couldn't wait, and asked her what was going on. "I found a hole in the bathroom door." Was all she told me. I was confused at first. And didnt' hear back from her untill almost finals. I was with a friend of mine and I had left my cell phone in her car. We went out for a drive and that was when I saw the message. I listened to my voice mail and it was my mom. "I asked your dad to leave today. I want you to know because I dont' know if he will come down there for you." Then I had a message on my phone from one of my sisters basically saying the samething. Of course I got upset and started crying.

It came to light that my father had been looking through the door in the bathroom at us when we were taking baths, so my mom had asked him to leave. I still remember the way she said the conversation went.
Mom:(To my dad) Did you put the hole in the bathroom door?
Dad: When do you want me to leave?