• 💖 [Donate To Keep MyPTSD Online] 💖 Every contribution, no matter how small, fuels our mission and helps us continue to provide peer-to-peer services. Your generosity keeps us independent and available freely to the world. MyPTSD closes if we can't reach our annual goal.

General Am I A Bad Person?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi all.
This is my first time posting. I am kind of not sure what to do.
My new husband of only 2months got diagnosed with ptsd. It was childhood events that my heart breaks when I hear about it. I know I can't fix it and I'm struggling with not being able to help and only just being there for him. I know just being there is enough.

He isn't suicidal or self harming which is great it's one thing I don't need to worry. However he does get angry (not towards me) at drivers in cars and says things like he hopes their families dies etc just because they were driving slow in the fast lane!!! It makes me question him a lot and who did I marry??
I'm struggling with the fact though he can't go to work or get himself up to get to work yet he can stay at home all day and do NO cleaning or washing or anything and I hate to say it but, his legs and arms aren't broken!!! I feel horrible everytime I thing these things and I feel bad about myself. He then can go to band rehearsal and stay out late and then not be able to get up the next day for work either! I sometimes feel like saying get over it and get to hell work! I think that is my lack of understanding of ptsd!
I feel left out and ignored. I feel unimportant and I need attention. I am craving praise for dealing with him dealing with ptsd. I am craving attention where I feel I want to flirt with men just to feel good about myself. I have emotionally ate myself to 20kg heavier! I feel disgusted in myself and the lack of attention doesn't help. I do everything I can to help even allowing him to spend $2k plus on getting tattoos so he can 'feel' something!