1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ativan / Lorazepam

Discussion in 'Medications & Substances' started by jsiems, Aug 4, 2008.

1. jsiems

jsiems New Member

I have been on ativan/lorazepam for almost 3 months. My day was 2/2/08 and have been diagnosed by 2 psychiatrist, 1 psychologists and 1 dr., all stating the same thing, PTSD. I am wondering what others have experienced with this drug? I take 1 1mg tablet every 6 to 8 hours. Somedays it helps, other days it doesn't even touch panic attacks. I am new to this and I figured this could be quite helpful.
  2. She Cat

She Cat VIP Member

Welcome to the forum!!!!!

While they do help with anxiety and panic attacks, please be careful as they are extremely addictive.... Facing your fears/trauma and working to heal yourself is a better way to go, but I understand how difficult that may be for you.
  3. BassistKara

BassistKara New Member

Hi jsiems
    Welcome to the forum.
    Like She Cat said, be very careful with those sorts of meds, as they are very very addictive. Personally i was addicted to Xanax, and the withdrawals are just indescribably bad.
    Of course it sucks being anxious all the time, but unfortunatly the only way to really lower the anxiety is by working through the trauma. Meds can be great, but for me they were just covering up the real issues.
    I'm not really sure what else to say sorry!
  4. linasmom

linasmom New Member

Hi,

First, let me say, Wendy -you know I love you dearly, truly.

However, I really wish that we would stop stigmatizing certain drugs while not stigmatizing other drugs, on this forum.

The word to be "addicted" is defined as :

1. To cause to become physiologically or psychologically dependent on a habit-forming substance
    2. To occupy (oneself) with or involve (oneself) in something habitually or compulsively