1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The Daily Dose

Get the last 24hrs of new topics delivered to your inbox.

Click Here to Subscribe

Awareness Is Half The Battle

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by star, Mar 12, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. star

star New Member

Hello. I am an ex social worker for a large city. I investigated child abuse for years with no debriefing afterwards. During the time I worked for CPS, I was exposed to many abnormal events including being harassed, threatened, and having a dog sicked on me while out in the field. Having knowledge of harmful acts upon children is a traumatic ordeal. There is a life and death stress that one never forgets after working in crisis intervention. Little did I know that years after that job I would develop a severe stress reaction that became an ongoing problem. Panick attacks, anger, and fear became part of my daily life. There was a period of about 7 months that I was triggered right and left. I experienced such severe emotional distress from little things. My reactions were disproportionate to what was actually going on. My behavior was so irrational, it was embarrassing. At my current job, I could not sit at my desk for more than an hour without having to get up and walk around. I thought I was going crazy and forced myself to see a therapist. I am glad I now have the knowledge of what PTSD is and the tools to help me get through it. One of the hardest things is finding people who understand your situation and can fully support you. I have a great appreciation for any survivor of a traumatic experience. It's important for any survivor of a trauma (abuse victims, crisis workers, soldiers, cops, crime witness, etc) to get help after a terrifying experience. There is help out there! Awareness if half the battle.

2. Register to participate in live chat, PTSD discussion and more.
  3. anthony