• 💖 [Donate To Keep MyPTSD Online] 💖 Every contribution, no matter how small, fuels our mission and helps us continue to provide peer-to-peer services. Your generosity keeps us independent and available freely to the world. MyPTSD closes if we can't reach our annual goal.

Brand New To This Forum - Raped, Beaten and Tortured

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi all,

I have known that I have experienced trauma for a long time. But in the last year I have heard the phrase "Post traumatic Stress disorder". I googled it and found this forum. I have never used a forum before. This is exciting

The most significant traumatic events occured nearly 4 years ago, but I have had major traumatic things happen every year of my life since I was 3yr old (I am 22 now).

I thought I was accustomed to it. But in the last 2 years weird things have been happening inside my body which I havent talked to anyone about. I'm very ashamed.

I work full time at the same time as being a university student studying economics.

I used to love people genuinely, connect with people of all ages, very extremely organised, and achieve alot all the time. I was deux of my school, I would do public speaking for World Vision, I thought I was a good person.

When I was 18 I was forced out of home, lost my virginity to man high on drugs in a share accom who was nearly 30, became his girlfriend and he terrorized my life for a year, bashing me, raping me, pulling my hair, spitting on me, strangling me.

I've never touched drugs, but have smoked a cigerette a few times and have a bit of a weakness for alcohol but probably only drink 5 standard drinks a week.

I dont know where he is now, I have not contacted him now for 1.5yrs. he dropped out of my life very suddenly and next thing I knew I was starting university and living in a student accomodation.

I am disconnected from the memories most of the time and that is how I have been able to perform so well at uni and work in the finance industry.