• 💖 [Donate To Keep MyPTSD Online] 💖 Every contribution, no matter how small, fuels our mission and helps us continue to provide peer-to-peer services. Your generosity keeps us independent and available freely to the world. MyPTSD closes if we can't reach our annual goal.

Supporter Breathe... Just Breathe

Status
Not open for further replies.

still_i_rise

Confident
Hello everybody,

My husband has been suffering from PTSD for a while. I just want do everything I can to help him. I'm learning that that sometimes means just standing by and not doing anything in his space. That's hard. Sometimes it's the hardest part.

He's my superman. He's my life. It breaks me to see him hurting and struggling from something I can't do anything about.

I thought I could just be strong and patient. I realized that I can't be enough for him.
I am scared. I am not good at being scared.

I'm that woman that has all her shit together and gets the job done. And now I don't even know what my job is anymore as his wife. Something I used to be able to do effortlessly. It was so easy and natural to provide and support him before. Now I'm at a loss and anxious that I'm doing everything wrong.

I'm that woman that everybody else turns to for help. I suck at reaching out for it in return.

So here I am.

I am hoping to learn how to deal with all of this better. For both our sakes.

Thank you for reading.

Breathing is good!
Now I'm at a loss and anxious that I'm doing everything wrong.
My therapist has said (several times) that he'd be interested in meeting the person who could actually manage to do everything wrong. He doesn't think it's possible.

So, how long have the two of you been dealing with PTSD? Is he in therapy? Has something happened recently to increase your stress level?

He got diagnosed a couple years ago. I think he's been dealing with it a whole lot longer.