1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The Daily Dose

Get the last 24hrs of new topics delivered to your inbox.

Click Here to Subscribe

Broken Cop - Many Traumas Related to Life and Police Work

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by SpecOp27, Sep 1, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SpecOp27

SpecOp27 New Member

Hello, my name is George. I am a full time cop working patrol and SWAT in the north east. On 07FEB06 I was involved in a suicide by police. He had a BB gun and I had a 12 GA. I had just come back from my son being born 5 weeks early and almost losing him and my wife during birth. He actually died but they brought him back. He did 3.5 months in Hopkins. When I realized my cheese was sliding off my cracker I asked for help and was really beat up by my agency. With the help of God my family and Martial Arts I got by pretty good.

About six weeks ago my oldest friend and confidant not to mention my mentor died suddenly of a heart attack. Charlie was a retied police LT and a decorated Vietnam Vet.

Right now I have a lot of other issues going on. Grandparents in hospice. Keeping my wife at home to raise our 3 kids, all under 11 yrs and the every day stressors. I just went back to a new trauma doc.

Hope to share and learn here. God Bless-George

2. Register to participate in live chat, PTSD discussion and more.
  3. becvan

becvan Queen of the Blunt! Premium Member

Hi George.

It's nice to meet you. I just joined today myself. I am also in a Martial Art (Judo) lol which presents challenges in itself. (The whole time I am there I'm in a state of panic, but I refuse to give up.) How do you do in the Arts?
    Bec

4. SpecOp27

SpecOp27 New Member

Judo huh, I coach Judo. My daughter is a two time state Champion. I take Yoshin Ryu Ju Jitsu. I have very little problems in the dojo.

5. becvan

becvan Queen of the Blunt! Premium Member

ACK!! I'm sooo envious!