1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The Daily Dose

Get the last 24hrs of new topics delivered to your inbox.

Click Here to Subscribe

Can You Suggest Books For Me?

Discussion in 'Treatment & Therapy' started by FauxLiz, Feb 7, 2017.

1. FauxLiz

FauxLiz Well-Known Member Premium Member

I had my session with my T this morning and we were really getting in to a few things as I had sent him a letter several weeks ago with a list of questions that I was too embarrassed to address in session. This was our first session where he truly used some of the phrases that I have read here and I feel as though I am swimming upstream all of a sudden. Because I am a researcher and reader to help me address problems I was hoping that I could get suggestions for books that could be helpful on topics such as re-parenting and younger self/inner child.

2. Register to participate in live chat, PTSD discussion and more.
  3. JEKBreatheandBelieve

JEKBreatheandBelieve I'm a VIP

I don't know if either of these address inner child or re-parenting, but I have liked what I have read so far in both "Complex PTSD: From Surviving to Thriving" and "The Body Keeps the Score".

erigby likes this.
  4. FauxLiz

I have and have read "The Body Keeps the Score" I didn't take away from my reading anything along these lines. I will look in to Pete Walkers book though.

5. JEKBreatheandBelieve

JEKBreatheandBelieve I'm a VIP

I just looked in "Overcoming Trauma-Related Dissociation" and there is a whole chapter on Coping With the Needs of Inner Child Parts. In the Surviving to Thriving book I am not sure if it specifically mention inner child, but there are some good chapters on dealing with abandonment issues and I know my younger parts struggle with that.

6. erigby

erigby Active Member

@FauxLiz I recommend Peter Walker's book as well. It has been incredibly helpful and insightful for me.