1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The Daily Dose

Get the last 24hrs of new topics delivered to your inbox.

Click Here to Subscribe

Caregiving: PTSD Anniversaries

Discussion in 'News, Politics & Debates' started by anthony, Sep 7, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. anthony

anthony Renovation Aficionado Founder

Even as a journalist I wondered why so many anniversaries were covered with so much fuss, but I've learned that marking anniversaries is an important thing to do -- and very healing.

But it can be hard, and it's important to do. With the approaching anniversaries of Hurricane Katrina, the end of August anniversary of my 93-year-old father going to the hospital and the attacks on Sept. 11, 2001, I started freaking out in mid-August.

For about a week there was a feeling of dread -- that something was about to go wrong. Actually I think anticipating the anniversary is worse than living through it -- at least for me.

I learned about traumatic anniversaries after the Sept. 11 attacks after I did a series of articles on Post Traumatic Stress Disorder and had the opportunity to interviews dozens of PSTD experts.

One of the most helpful interviews was with a psychologist who said that people deal with a traumatic event -- especially a death -- via the anniversaries. He said that after the death or trauma there's a fair amount of denial that anything really happened, but at the three-month anniversary it all comes back and it can be a very emotional anniversary.

"When my own father died for the weeks afterward you say to yourself, he can't be dead, you expect him to call, he didn't seem dead, but at the third-month anniversary you have to tell yourself, 'maybe he really isn't on a long business trip,'" he said.