• 💖 [Donate To Keep MyPTSD Online] 💖 Every contribution, no matter how small, fuels our mission and helps us continue to provide peer-to-peer services. Your generosity keeps us independent and available freely to the world. MyPTSD closes if we can't reach our annual goal.

Relationship Depersonalisation Dissociation And Ptsd

Status
Not open for further replies.
A

Alex00

Hi,

I am new to this and was just looking to some guidance.

About 6 months ago my wife starting having therapy to help her deal with a trauma she had in childhood. Since then her mental state has declined quite rapidly.

The suicidal thoughts that she was getting about a month ago seem to have dissipated but she has been self harming. Each time it seemed to get worse (3 incidents and around 40 stitches in just one week) to the extent that she is now in hospital receiving intensive therapy. They are also trying to get the balance of her meds sorted out.

On top of this she has also been having episodes of dissociation and flash backs to the trauma. I try to bring her back into the room and have tried talking her through some grounding techniques. It is so distressing as she has quite a physical reaction to these episodes and it is clear she is in a great deal of distress.

She is truly such a wonderful person and I just want to support her in the best way possible.

I am very worried about when she is discharged from hospital. I have given up work but before she went in this wasn't enough and I still wasn't able to keep her safe. I think that is impossible in a domestic setting even though she is doing all she can (going to therapy, taking prescribed meds, exercising when she is able to etc). I know everyone's experience is different but if anyone has any advice on how I can best support her that would really be helpful.