• 💖 [Donate To Keep MyPTSD Online] 💖 Every contribution, no matter how small, fuels our mission and helps us continue to provide peer-to-peer services. Your generosity keeps us independent and available freely to the world. MyPTSD closes if we can't reach our annual goal.

Sufferer Diagnosed - Not Yet Found Anyone Who 'gets Me'.

Status
Not open for further replies.

nerfmercy

New Here
Hi, my name is Nikki. I am 19. Back in July of 2016 i was a photographer for my local RSPCA. I'd been doing this for quite some time and i had decided that helping dogs was what i wanted to do with my life. I dropped out of university, i was studying photography, and i applied to do a degree in Canine Behaviour and Training.

Two days after i got my acceptance letter for my new course i was at the RSPCA photographing dogs. I was at the dogs level, sitting on the floor was better for them as they weren't threatened by you or the big camera you are holding. But one was. I didn't even have the camera to my face, it was sat in my lap. He came for me, no warning. It was a full scale dog attack. He went for my face but i put my arm up to protect myself. He wouldn't let go.

I had to have surgery on my arm. For a long time i had no feeling in it due to nerve damage, half of my hand i still can't feel. I also really struggle with daily tasks. Even typing, after a few minutes, makes the muscle ache. He ripped it in half.

I can no longer pick up my camera and do the thing that i loved.

My entire life fell apart around me. When he came for me, it was like i wasn't in my own body. It was like i was standing at the side watching the whole incident unfold. Screaming at myself to put my arm up and not let him get my face and neck.

I really believe i should of died that day.

Currently, the legal proceedings have started surrounding the incident. And i am not coping. I feel alone and lost. I am not quite sure where i should turn to anymore.