1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Does Playing First Person Shooter Games Affect You?

Discussion in 'Discussion' started by SGT Bilko, Apr 13, 2009.

1. SGT Bilko

SGT Bilko New Member

I'm an OEF/OIF vet and I used to love playing first person shooters. I was young and they were fun. Now I can be alright while I play them. In fact, I feel a little better than alright. It sounds cheesy but there is somthing about the rhythmic thumping of a machine gun that is almost soothing. Its like what the world is suppose to be. Its not until after when I'm "wired" that the problem occurs. It ques up all the hypervigilance and as it has been described to me: my eyes glaze over and I'm no longer the same person.

So as the old saying goes: "Dr., it hurts when i raise my arm above my head." The Dr. Responce. " Then don't raise your arm above your head." Would it that it was that simple. I feel like if I don't play these games that I'm letting PTSD win. Thats somthing that I simply cannot do. Maybe its even some part of me deep down inside that is saying " This shooting and exploding is normal and the college you attend is the game"

Anyway, do i let it win or do I try and find out a way to enjoy somthing that I loved in a past life. Is my life FOREVER ruled by PTSD? Do I have to treat it the same as if i lost a hand. In respects to everything I would do would change at some level? If there is anyone out there a little further on in treatment or just knows from experience, please let me know. I'm lost.

Jon.

P.S. I must sound like an Idiot- lets recreate the thing that traumatized you. thats super smart!
  2. joshybumboshy

joshybumboshy Well-Known Member