• 💖 [Donate To Keep MyPTSD Online] 💖 Every contribution, no matter how small, fuels our mission and helps us continue to provide peer-to-peer services. Your generosity keeps us independent and available freely to the world. MyPTSD closes if we can't reach our annual goal.

Emdr - Sequence Of Memories?

Status
Not open for further replies.

samson

Confident
I have been doing emdr now for two years. I have multiple traumas that begin in childhood. The most damaging ones occurred when I was a young adult and in a relationship with a sociopath. Those memories came up first in emdr and we painfully worked through those and actually remapped my brain. All of my ptsd symptoms related to that are gone. Then we moved on to childhood, which doesn't really involve any sexual abuse as far as I know.

This week I started having dreams about being sexually abused by adults. In these dreams everything is in the present. I'm my right age and the places this takes place are in my present. After the second dream, I had a flash memory that day of something that happened in 6th grade on a school bus with an older student. I got out my yearbook and realized I don't remember anything from that year of my life. It's so weird.

Anyway - I am really bummed and scared of this new memory. I don't understand why it didn't come up when we were processing the other sexual memories. It makes me afraid that I'm not done discovering the sexual abuse and I don't want to find out if my dad (who I loved very much) actually abused me and I've blocked it out.

Anyone have any experience like this?

When I first started on EMDR last may I rather stupidly wanted to see everything right then and took myself very aggressively back to my young childhood. I had suppressed to the point that when I actually sat down and thought about how much of my life I actually remember. I was in fact shocked to realize how much I had "blocked out".