• 💖 [Donate To Keep MyPTSD Online] 💖 Every contribution, no matter how small, fuels our mission and helps us continue to provide peer-to-peer services. Your generosity keeps us independent and available freely to the world. MyPTSD closes if we can't reach our annual goal.

Former Police Officer With PTSD

Status
Not open for further replies.

officerx

New Here
Hello,

I prefer to not use my real name. I am a former police officer with PTSD. I was involved in one specific event that most likely triggered it but upon exploring my past with my counselor, it seems that it was just waiting to reach the surface.

While on duty, I was involved in a physical altercation where the suspect attempted to kill me and the other officer. We were able to subdue him but we both received injuries which resulted in a short stay in the hospital for me.

I was O.K. at first but later (nearly a year) began to have a lot of anger issues along with depression. I also began having terrible nightmares and just felt like crap all the time. I was retired around the same time due to a physical health problem and began a new career.

The PTSD problems did not go away, however, and I actually began feeling worse. This was the time I began seeing a counselor who diagnosed me. Once I realized what the problem was, I started improving but still had a lot of problems with bad dreams and triggers such as things on T.V. and in movies. I had one episode where I had to leave a movie because it freaked me out so badly. I was so embarrassed since the friends I was with knew nothing about my problems.