1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The Daily Dose

Get the last 24hrs of new topics delivered to your inbox.

Click Here to Subscribe

Greetings - Young Doctor With PTSD

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by minceymeatpie, Mar 2, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. minceymeatpie

minceymeatpie Member

Hello.

I'm a young physician in my 20s who has no idea how to heal herself. After years of medical school and residency, you would think I could do better but unfortunately not.

It is fairly ironic that I am a physician because I avoid physicians like the plague. The way I see it, if I went to see someone about the insomnia, nightmares, social withdrawal and constant detachment and if I told them about my lovely history and lovelier family, I would come away the same but now with a DSM IV label affixed permanently to my medical records. So I plod on and avoid help.

Recently I went to see my family physician because I needed to have a medical exam for some government applications. I completely lost it on her table during the internal - whimpering, crying, pleading etc. As a result I now have been referred to a psychiatrist so that someone can tell me I have PTSD and depression and prescribe me medications I refuse to take and offer me therapy I don't have the time nor ability (geographically I am rotated through towns every 4-5 months to rural areas for medical care) to pursue.

I suppose my life is coming to a head in that I can't run too much more.

2. Register to participate in live chat, PTSD discussion and more.
  3. GR-ass

GR-ass Well-Known Member

snugs tight

Boy does that sound familiar (the loosing it)

It took me till I was 22 to have my first smear (my family has a high incidence of cervical abnormalities).

At least my doc knew about what had happened when I was a kid and helped talk me out of the flashback.