• 💖 [Donate To Keep MyPTSD Online] 💖 Every contribution, no matter how small, fuels our mission and helps us continue to provide peer-to-peer services. Your generosity keeps us independent and available freely to the world. MyPTSD closes if we can't reach our annual goal.

Held Hostage In Relationship

Status
Not open for further replies.

anonymous

MyPTSD Pro
So, as the title says... And this is my first time coming out about this.

I'm in a relationship with a person that was raped recently and I also have PTSD. So, sorta having to push both the role of supporter while being a sufferer. As can probably be guessed, not doing well... Not much of the element of mutual support and stuff, and I don't feel as though there is much understanding for me in the relationship.

It's not a really stable relationship. But, the problem is, I cannot get out, because of the fear of her doing something seriously bad to herself. Last time I started going towards anything like that, I had to look at plenty of cutting, and her even sending me pictures of where she cut and so on. Mainly feels like a net I'm being wrapped more and more into... And the longer it goes on, the harder it will be to break free.

Now, it wouldn't be such a huge problem if I wanted to stay in the relationship fully, but the problem is, I sorta don't want to be in a relationship with her. I mean, I love you, but not much, I just care a lot about what will happen. And for the reasons above, I am not even trying to get out anymore, but it's going too long.

I do not want to be in the relationship, I want to be free, and this just makes me feel bad...

Anyone who had/has similar situations or can help in any way?