1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The Daily Dose

Get the last 24hrs of new topics delivered to your inbox.

Click Here to Subscribe

Hello - From "Batgirl's" Aunt

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Kathy, Feb 27, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Kathy

Kathy I'm a VIP

Hello to everyone, my name is Kathy. I'm not exactly new to this forum, but I thought it time to introduce myself. Jim is my husband and Evie is my niece. I have been reading on here for several weeks, and it's as if I know many people already. I'm not much of a computer person, but I may want to write here on occasion, and I finally figured out how to sign up for an account, all by myself! A little bit about me then - I am a retired MSW. I worked with troubled youth in a residential setting for 25 years. Prior to that I was an officer in the military where I met my husband. I have four grown sons, five grandchildren, an 18 year old nephew who my husband and I adopted, and my 23 year old niece who for all intents and purposes we have adopted as well. I'm a breast cancer survivor, in remission since 1993. I'm an active member of Al-Anon and the Catholic Women's League. My life is quite plain really, I love my children, I like to garden, cook and bake and spend time with my family. I must admit, I was rather conceited and thought being an MSW and previously working with young people with trauma, I would already know how to help. But I have had a rude awakening in that regard. Being a professional doesn't really prepare one for dealing with a family member with this illness. Therefore, I am delighted this forum exists. Thank you.

2. Register to participate in live chat, PTSD discussion and more.
  3. becvan

becvan Queen of the Blunt! Premium Member

Hi Kathy!

Lovely to have you and glad you've figured out how to join!

You don't sound in the least boring, more like very busy!