1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The Daily Dose

Get the last 24hrs of new topics delivered to your inbox.

Click Here to Subscribe

Hello - I Have PTSD and My Daughter Has PTSD

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by lost611, Apr 17, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lost611

lost611 New Member

Hello this is my first time writing,
    I have PTSD and my daughter has been threw a very tramatic event and now has PTSD- I am looking for some help , I have been suffering for a long time with this and had it under control I thought until my daughters event took place and than I started to relive what happened to me again and again. Where I am losing hope is the therapy I am receving -it has been over a year now and I have good and bad times - but is there going to be a time when things are even, having a really bad time right now as I had to go to court a few weeks back on my daughters case and have not been able to control the flashes and extreme emotions, so where do i go from here ?- really i am lost as to what to do next do I continue therapy? What things can i try to do to get some of my systoms under control-
    Systoms- no sleep
    cut off emotionally from others
    do not want to leave my home
    gripped with fear at times
    walking around in a fogg
    Anyone that can give me some advice it would be great.

Thanks for reading.

2. Register to participate in live chat, PTSD discussion and more.
  3. Monarch

Monarch I'm a VIP Premium Member

i have been there, anyone with PTSD has been there. Therapy is a good tool, I have been at it for a year now and have still not talked about the traumas themselves very much but I have learned alot about coping skills and what to do when I have the flashbacks and anxiety. It is all very hard to get through, you just have to decide, "am I going to fight, or lay down and steamrolled".

4. Marlene