1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The Daily Dose

Get the last 24hrs of new topics delivered to your inbox.

Click Here to Subscribe

Hello I'm Marilyn AKA Wayne's Wife

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Marilyn_S, Feb 27, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Marilyn_S

Marilyn_S Well-Known Member

Hello,

My sweetie told me about this forum and lovingly suggested that it might be good for me to join. I'm a very open book. Truthfully, probably a little too open sometimes. I tend to get myself hurt alot when I realize what I have said was uncomfortable to someone else. Anyway, a little about myself. I am a wife and mother of five great kids. I have PTSD from being a survivor of childhood sexual abuse and having an abusive first husband. By heart and by profession I am a social worker, which means I'm exposed to situations similar to those I have been through on a regular basis. I have to work very hard to remain sane! Helping others means I have to be very careful to maintain certain emotional and relational boundaries. In other words, there are very few places were I can just be me and unload without being careful about what I say and whether or not it will be a trigger to others. To be very honest, that is why I am here. I am not easy to offend if someone is being genuine and just trying to tell it how they see it. But I am sick to death of having to watch every word I say to make sure I'm not offending someone or triggering someone. I expect to be triggered. Its part of life as a person with PTSD. But in order for me to truly get the support I need, I need to feel like it is is OK for me to share my thoughts and ideas without constantly being edited, blocked, or monitored by "overseeing powers". I apologize if I seem bitter at first acquaintance, but I kinda feel like this is a testing ground for whether this is a place where I can learn, grow, and heal, or whe