• 💖 [Donate To Keep MyPTSD Online] 💖 Every contribution, no matter how small, fuels our mission and helps us continue to provide peer-to-peer services. Your generosity keeps us independent and available freely to the world. MyPTSD closes if we can't reach our annual goal.

Hello - PTSD Diagnosis Was a Surprise

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marlene

MyPTSD Pro
Hi.

I'm a little unsure of what to write here. Three months ago I was diagnosed with PTSD. No one was more surprised than I. I am a veteran (although my PTSD is not military related) and I've known vets with PTSD and never thought that what is going on with me could be anything like that. Guess it goes to show what I know. LOL

Actually, I started therapy because I had all of these symtoms 'come out of the blue' and the worst was the anxiety and as it got worse almost daily, all of the other symptoms got worse. My therapist referred me to a psychiatrist to see about getting some meds to help with the anxiety. I couldn't understand why this woman kept asking me all of these questions and why the hell wouldn't she just give me a script for something so I can just go back to work? She then told me PTSD and I about fell out of my chair. She told me what I have, why I have it but I've had to find out on my own (AKA the hard way) how it has affected, is affecting and may possibly affect my life.

I'm very fortunate to have a wonderful support system with my husband and two daughters (18 and 14), family and friends. Without all of these people, I don't know where I'd be.