1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The Daily Dose

Get the last 24hrs of new topics delivered to your inbox.

Click Here to Subscribe

Hospital Mistreatment - How We Suffer At Their Incompetence

Discussion in 'General' started by mac, Jan 25, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mac

mac Active Member

Reading the post about Evie (Batgirl) being negligently dismissed as she layed on the hospital floor for any amount of time... infuriating!!! :angry-fla

For one thing, I seriously doubt that this is an "isolated event." "Isolated Event" is choice wording generally used by hospital staff :naughty: to smooth over or explain a misdoing by hospital staff. Not that I've done it... I've seen it done many times... and sometimes as a patient, experienced that 'excuse' being used in my situation. I was a lab tech, not a nurse... but saw and experienced enough to have little respect for most of them . However, the nurses who serve in Iraq are a totatlly different breed (different committment)... they are awesome!:thumbs-up

This incident (Evie) is just another unfortunate example of how those that are mentally conflicted get treated (dismissed)... even in a hospital- a place where you should be safe.:poke:

First of all, in most busy hospitals, nurses are understaffed and overworked, which tends to make them and anyone that deals with them- plain miserable people... and guess what- for you that are nurses out there who are in this dilemma, I have no sympathy for your plight because your selfishness will only bring harm to a patient one day. Quit or get out the profession all-together!
    Secondly, as an inpatient, I believe you're not going to be taken seriously once the staff knows that your on psychotropic meds- the ugly face of human nature and the reality of being "psychiatric."