• 💖 [Donate To Keep MyPTSD Online] 💖 Every contribution, no matter how small, fuels our mission and helps us continue to provide peer-to-peer services. Your generosity keeps us independent and available freely to the world. MyPTSD closes if we can't reach our annual goal.

How a Film Can Make Me Feel Wrecked

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rob T.

Confident
The following is just my relating an experience I had. Everything written in this post is just my opinion, so if you want to just reading here and ignore it, that is totally ok. No Harm. That is ok with me, really. no sweat.

I have a theatre degree, and have done [pro theatre] acting. For all of the ways acting has screwed up my ablility to trust, I probably would rather have gotten a degree in singing. But, since it's been over 13 yrs. since I earned my degree, + I forgot the emotional and sometimes emotionally painful impact that art or [a harrowing film like "saving private ryan"] can have on someone.

Recently, I had to go in to work for 2 hrs one day. I prepped for the day badly by sleeping too little + by eating breakfast too fast before driving to work.
While getting ready for work, I saw a film that really blindsided me + hurt me. [well, that was my fault. The fictional film involved police brutally murdering criminal suspects, I could have turned it off when the film started to make me uneasy]. It was an anime, [meaning Japanese animation], film. I won't mention it's name, but avoid anime films where people wear black nazi-looking helmets and use WWII nazi guns.

Anyhow, the film involed a government man who falls in love with a 17-year-old girl. The girl belongs to a crime group. In the end, the man's government agency tells him that she is a threat to the agency, and that he must kill her or [he will be killed himself if he does not kill her]. In the end, she is killed by the agency.