• 💖 [Donate To Keep MyPTSD Online] 💖 Every contribution, no matter how small, fuels our mission and helps us continue to provide peer-to-peer services. Your generosity keeps us independent and available freely to the world. MyPTSD closes if we can't reach our annual goal.

News Human Rights For Sex Offenders

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hashi

MyPTSD Pro
I'm not sure why I'm posting this, or what I want from replies (if there are any).

I work in the field of criminal justice - I chose this before recovering memories and it has certainly been challenging to start remembering, healing and having therapy for what happened to me, while working in an environment that brings me into contact with offenders and offender management. The personal contact is -thankfully - limited, but it's there. Work on policy and written complaints/comments is occasional, but when it happens it's a big problem for me.

I have a lot of conflict over this. I think everyone should have human rights.

I'm from the UK and we don't have a constitution. Apart from the magna carta which isn't relevant to what I mean here, for hundreds of years our legal system was based on having no rights but particular legal decisions setting a precedent which gave some. (Compared to a constitution giving fundamental rights which legal precedents modified.) More recently we've had legislation that does give us enshrined rights, notably the European Human Rights Act. When I first read this, I cried because of all the legal rights in it that I've lost in some way because of what happened to me:

Right to life
Freedom from torture and inhuman or degrading treatment
Right to liberty and security
Freedom from slavery and forced labour
No punishment without law
Right to marry and start a family
Right to peaceful enjoyment of your property