1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The Daily Dose

Get the last 24hrs of new topics delivered to your inbox.

Click Here to Subscribe

I'm New - Possible PTSD 3 Years After Rape

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by faerieevenstar, Nov 26, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. faerieevenstar

faerieevenstar Member

Well, this introduction thing is hard isn't it? I'm Faerie Evenstar, and I live pretty much right in the middle of England. I'm 23 and recently got married to the man of my dreams and my knight in shining armor. I'm studying a degree in psychology with the Open University (home learning) after being inspired by my own psychologist and hope that maybe one day when I'm better I can help others with problems like I have had. I've now been signed off work for 4 years... I've never worked as I just left art college due to being to ill with depression and I'm still pulling myself back up again...

I haven't been officially diagnosed with PTSD but after having seen a psychiatrist last Friday and hearing the word 'trauma' mentioned repeatedly with reference to my condition and my dealyed reaction being 'not unusal' I think it was implied... I will be going back in the next few weeks and they will hopefully give me a better diagnosis but it all makes sense to me... (Advanced warning, I type "..." a lot. I know it's bad punctuation but I do it when I'm typing rambling brain-thoughts, so sorry!)

My symptoms are depression (which I've suffered from as long as I can remember, even before the trauma but it's got worse...), panic attacks, high stress, sleep problems (I have to say I sleep too much which seems to be uncommon for PTSD but I also have trouble getting to sleep in the first place sometimes even when I'm very tired), flashbacks, social anxiety, some memory loss around the events and I've now stopped going out of the house unless it's totally neccasary...