• 💖 [Donate To Keep MyPTSD Online] 💖 Every contribution, no matter how small, fuels our mission and helps us continue to provide peer-to-peer services. Your generosity keeps us independent and available freely to the world. MyPTSD closes if we can't reach our annual goal.

Relationship In Love With Ptsd Suffering Army Vet And Very, Very Confused...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Celia82

New Here
Whoa.. this is so amazing. This is my first time on this forum and I can recognize SO many things, from the concern when he disappears, the intensity when he is there, the respect for and wish to help with his struggle... please excuse a long post. Never had anyone to talk to about this.

My problem is, that I am madly in love with an army vet, who suffers from ptsd and anxiety. I shouldn't be, because he is married. His marriage is rather new and has never been very happy - he had only known his wife for a year when we met - and according to him she has had several affairs and generally treats him very badly, starting arguments, very controlling etc. He got his ptsd diagnose shortly after the married, and she sort of never opted for a life with a ptsd suffering vet, you can say. But I have no wish or intentions of breaking up a home. It really wasn't intentional that I fell in love with him.

He fell in love with me too, very much so, it seems. We met through volunteer work, we were both involved in and it happened the first second we saw each other. We never acted on it, of course – I don't cheat and neither does he, but we talked, and there was no point in denying the very strong feelings we had for each other.