1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The Daily Dose

Get the last 24hrs of new topics delivered to your inbox.

Click Here to Subscribe

Introductions are in Order I Suppose - Abuse and Veteran

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by TheDeepestScar, Nov 16, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TheDeepestScar

TheDeepestScar Member

I found this site on one of my PTSD searches on the internet. I've been doing alot of research in the last month since I began seeing a new therapist.

I am a victim of child abuse and am a child of alcoholic parents. I am also a victim of spousal abuse in all varieties by my ex husband, who also abused our daughter when she was an infant which I will be more comfortable going into possibly later.

I am also a veteran of the United States Air Force, the abuse happened during my term of service so it is considered what is called service connected. In fact, they diagnosed me with PTSD and then turned around and deployed me knowing that diagnosis. Which only served to worsen my condition.

I have been seeing a psychiatrist at a Veteran's hospital in West Virginia, but he's got me diagnosed with bipolar and doped up with too many medications.

I, by the grace of God, found a therapist that specializes in PTSD and has written several books on the matter. Her name is Mary Beth Williams. She has evaluated me and says that I have complex PTSD which I am only now coming to understand (hence the recent research).

I suffer from severe panic attacks, deep periods of depression and withdrawel, I'm very socially inept...well actually I'm afraid to be social so to speak.

I am not very good at introductions.

I could say hi, my name is Rachele and I'm trying to recover from PTSD.

:hello:

2. Register to participate in live chat, PTSD discussion and more.
  3. nie

nie Wishing for wings to fly. Premium Member Donated

Welcome to the forum Rachele