• 💖 [Donate To Keep MyPTSD Online] 💖 Every contribution, no matter how small, fuels our mission and helps us continue to provide peer-to-peer services. Your generosity keeps us independent and available freely to the world. MyPTSD closes if we can't reach our annual goal.

Supporter Just joined. about to leave combatptsd fiancé. hygiene, attitude, gaming.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Renata

New Here
I am new to this. I am reaching out for help. My fiance was in the Army for 8 years. He has been diagnosed with PTSD. Lately he has been taking a shower once a week. I tell him to take a shower or ask him to shower with me. He says he doesn't want to and he doesn't have to bathe everyday because he doesn't work. He also says well if you don't like it go find somebody else. I am frustrated. I'm to the point where I want to leave. He has a dismissive attitude and negative energy and I'm tired of dealing with it. All he want to do is play World of Tanks on the computer. I told him that is not healthy. Any suggestions

Hi.
The showering could be a couple of things. Never make assumptions with PTSD as there could be big reasons for him doing certain things that he may not be able to say to you. For some it will be about depression symptoms. For others that have sexual trauma there can be many issues around this.

Gaming, especially war like gaming, can be a means of the brain attempting to process the trauma that happened to him. Its very common.

Speaking about the trauma in any way can trigger flashbacks and other symptoms so it can be hard to discuss this with others. Even the why when it comes to behaviour.

How much do you know about PTSD?

I am new to this. I am reaching out for help. My fiance was in the Army for 8 years. He has been diagnos...

Games help soothe but they can also create their own problems. Go easy on him. Hopefully the gaming is only an hour or so daily.