• 💖 [Donate To Keep MyPTSD Online] 💖 Every contribution, no matter how small, fuels our mission and helps us continue to provide peer-to-peer services. Your generosity keeps us independent and available freely to the world. MyPTSD closes if we can't reach our annual goal.

Military Killing Is Not What Messes With Your Head

Status
Not open for further replies.

anthony

Founder
The first question I get asked, more often than not, when someone discovers I'm a combat veteran, is whether I killed someone. Whilst the rudest question to ask, it's also the most obvious question. The problem is naivety though from civilians who do not really understand what is traumatic about operational deployments.

Killing someone is the easy part... not being killed is the constant unknown, let alone survivors guilt from seeing or hearing about a buddy who lost the battle of survival, and deployed home deceased. The things you see and come across that engagement orders don't allow you to intervene, these along with the constant threat of death, are what I would put on the two highest issues of combat trauma.

Watching someone get blown to bits, decapitated, shot for just being there, raped and lots more... these things play on your mind after the fact. There is nothing worse than having engagement orders where you simply cannot shoot someone if they're dressed in civilians and raping another, or killing them even... if you intervene, your own military will punish you / send you to jail, because you didn't follow your ROI (rules of engagement). It is you the soldier who has to stand back and watch civilians be their worse, watch the enemy done civilian clothing and do things, which you can't stop... all because you can't clearly identify them at that time as the enemy. A civilian killing another civilian, raping, torturing, so forth... is not typically within ROI, thus you can do nothing but let it happen and continue on your way.