• 💖 [Donate To Keep MyPTSD Online] 💖 Every contribution, no matter how small, fuels our mission and helps us continue to provide peer-to-peer services. Your generosity keeps us independent and available freely to the world. MyPTSD closes if we can't reach our annual goal.

Marijuana

Status
Not open for further replies.

sugnim

Confident
I never feel happy. I mean, sometimes I feel OK, but not really happy. Last night was different. I felt happy. Without any effort or feeling that I was somehow faking it for show. I laughed with my family. I danced in the grass. I watched the sun go down. But I also smoked marijuana. And I think that's what made me feel happy. I have this little jar that is probably about 12 years old. It still works.

Today, I'm not high. And I feel like I usually do. Slow and foggy-headed. Irritable and angry. Melancholy. Isolated. Occasionally suicidal with constant violent images running through my mind.

In our small town, I'm a professional with clients who depend on me, a home & a family. I play in multiple musical groups. And aside from losing my shit on a regular basis at home, I don't think most people can tell that I have some issues, PTSD, depression, whatever. No one would guess about the unhealthy ways I try to cope with things.

My shrink has suggested medication, but I'm afraid of the side-effects. I just can't take that stuff, even though I feel that I owe it to my family to try. I don't want my son to grow up with a shitty parent. And I don't want to be a shitty spouse. I would basically be taking the medication for other people, not for myself. Maybe I'm selfish to not want to take it.

But, I don't think that using marijuana is a good thing to model for a child either.

Ugh.

I never feel happy. I mean, sometimes I feel OK, but not really happy. Last night was different. I fel...