1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The Daily Dose

Get the last 24hrs of new topics delivered to your inbox.

Click Here to Subscribe

Memory/Cognitive Problems

Discussion in 'General' started by Marlene, Oct 29, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Marlene

Marlene I'm a VIP Premium Member

On Saturday my husband and I went to a gem/mineral show. I studied gemology for two years at the university level. I have learned a ton of information on this subject. From scientific measurments to the lore of gem stones around the world and everything in between. My memory has always served me very well in recalling information on this subject. Basically I could pick up a stone and it's like a card with all of the information about that stone would pop up in my mind.

Well...that's how it used to be. Saturday my memory and all of my learning failed me spectacularly. I would look at or pick up a stone and then nothing. Or I'd remember a sound in the name or a letter that the stone began with. But it would take five to ten minutes for me to remember the name. Or I would read the name someplace else. This is just not how it's been for me. I was so frustrated with myself! My husband tried to make a joke that it was my age creeping up on me. I know that's not the case. This is a very recent development. As in since my symptoms started.