• 💖 [Donate To Keep MyPTSD Online] 💖 Every contribution, no matter how small, fuels our mission and helps us continue to provide peer-to-peer services. Your generosity keeps us independent and available freely to the world. MyPTSD closes if we can't reach our annual goal.

New To The Forum And Just Diagnosed With Ptsd

Status
Not open for further replies.

dragonflymom

Learning
Hi everyone,

This is my first time posting on this forum, a friend from another forum recommended it to me. I've been reading through the articles along with my husband and they seem to be helping me make sense of a lot of what I've been feeling.

I was just diagnosed with PTSD by my doctor after telling her about years of abuse by my ex husband and all the recent issues that have cropped up with me related to it. It is so hard because he still has some visitation with my daughter so I feel like I can't get away from him - 6 more years til she is 18 then we will never let him set foot in our home or call.

I have my first counseling appointment tomorrow, here's hoping that it helps...

Welcome Dragonflymom!

We're very glad you're here!
Good luck with tomorrow's first therapy session! You're taking very good steps for healing!

Looking forward to hearing how your session goes, and to seeing your posts.
I'm so sorry you need to have some continuing connection with your ex :p
Hopefully your therapist can help you with some creative, protective and healing ways to deal with this and heal.

Sending warmest welcomes,
Deer

Hi dragonflymom

Welcome to the forum.

Good luck with your first therapy session, it will be tough and it may well upset you more at the beginning. but keep going with it, post how you feel on here when you can. It will get easier eventually.

Good to here your husband is working with you on this. It helps you both enormously if you can fight this together, both heading in the same direction.