1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The Daily Dose

Get the last 24hrs of new topics delivered to your inbox.

Click Here to Subscribe

New to the Group - Trauma and Cancer

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by P. McLean, Aug 3, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. P. McLean

P. McLean New Member

I have been working with a therapist for about 10 years on my PTSD. I hope that doesn't worry anybody. I've made great progress. I had another trauma about half way through that set me back - I got cancer. That gave me some extra trauma to work through but, the thing is I'm now a 5 year survivor of that too.
    Things I've been into that have really helped:

Journalling (massive journalling)
    Reading Wayne Dyer books and getting into Intention.
    Getting accupuncture and using Chinese herbs
    Meditiation
    Qi Gong
    Chanting

This morning I made a kind of discovery I hope it helps even more and would be happy if it helped somebody else too. I still go through periods where my emotions just get really stuck. Also I find it difficult to listen to music of any kind to this day. I just long to be able to reconnect with music and its been on my mind this summer. This morning I was alone in my house and feeling pretty stuck. I'm into doing artwork and I felt blocked.
    It occured to me that you could express emotion with just sound and movement with no words. I thought I would just try it and it was really hard kind of scary actually.