1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The Daily Dose

Get the last 24hrs of new topics delivered to your inbox.

Click Here to Subscribe

New to The Whole Thing - Boyfriend has PTSD But No Official Diagnosis

Discussion in 'Supporter Discussion' started by American Mary, Aug 11, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. American Mary

American Mary New Member

Hello, all. I'm a newbie here, so please be gentle. :smile: Where to start... My boyfriend is a Desert Storm vet with plenty of other combat experience. He's not been diagnosed with PTSD as of yet, but I'm certain he has it. We've discussed the toll it's been taking on him and also on our relationship (not sleeping for days then sleeping for days on end, hypervigilance, detachment, depression, etc, etc, etc) and he's agreed that he needs help to deal with the situation.

So far, so good, right?

Well, maybe not. I don't trust him to take the initiative to research the illness and find a counselor. He has very specific criteria for a therapist (wants the person to be a vet, specialize in PTSD, and not be affiliated with the VA - we are in America). Should I research these options and present him with a list of therapists? Should I just stand by and wait for him to do potentially nothing? I've read a few posts on this board and understand that a large part of my role is to stand by and be supportive and not take things personally, but at some point, I feel as though I need to intervene, especially if we are to stay together.

Sorry to ramble so. Can anyone point me in the right direction? Thanks for reading.

2. Register to participate in live chat, PTSD discussion and more.
  3. anthony

anthony Renovation Aficionado Founder

Hi Mary,