• 💖 [Donate To Keep MyPTSD Online] 💖 Every contribution, no matter how small, fuels our mission and helps us continue to provide peer-to-peer services. Your generosity keeps us independent and available freely to the world. MyPTSD closes if we can't reach our annual goal.

Sufferer New with questions about emdr

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bonbon

New Here
This is my first visit. I have been dealing with ptsd for 26 months now. It has been a difficult journey. I am now going through emdr therapy. I have read a lot of mixed reviews and was wondering if anyone has done emdr and what where the outcomes. I am still on medication and I am hoping that won't always be necessary .my flashbacks have diminished after starting seroquel. At times of stress I still need a benzo to control my anxiety.

I have managed to continue working but have still needed intermittent leave to cover myself on days that I don't function well. I am a nurse at a hospital, as a result of the stress I have transferred to the rehab unit from acute care. Too many triggers with acute care. I have more good days lately but I still struggle. I have hope that emdr might help but I have been in therapy and on medication since the beginning of this nightmare. Any insight from anyone?

Welcome.... hang in there, others will come on later and help you with your questions.... I have not done EMDR.... but have heard more success stories than negative.... just glad you found us....
Many of my friends in real life are nurses..... so thank you for what you do, that goes unnoticed and unrecognized, you are deeply appreciated...

Hope you find this healing community a part of your healing journey... happy you are here....