• 💖 [Donate To Keep MyPTSD Online] 💖 Every contribution, no matter how small, fuels our mission and helps us continue to provide peer-to-peer services. Your generosity keeps us independent and available freely to the world. MyPTSD closes if we can't reach our annual goal.

Assault Newly Diagnosed After Two Assaults...

Status
Not open for further replies.

jMa

New Here
I work in juvenile corrections and was assaulted twice in a month's time. I've been in my job for 7 1/2 years and this is a first and second for me. I can't go into detail since there are charges pending against the perpetrators. I was recently diagnosed with PTSD due to the nature of the assaults. I also have physical injuries from the assault...a misaligned jaw, a "dimple" in my face (which wasn't there prior to the assault) and something wrong with my knee from hitting the floor. I haven't been at work since the assault, due to the physical injuries.

I'm new to feeling how I do nowadays. I used to be an outgoing person, kept myself busy and hardly ever stayed at home. Now I don't want to deal with people, do not do anything and sit at home. I'm also having issues dealing with Workers Compensation taking care of my physical injuries. It's frustrating me and making me feel very broken. I enjoyed many things, but don't do them anymore. One reason being there are things I cannot do because of the knee injury and the other being because I just don't feel like it. I am seeking therapy, but on my appointment days I always end up shutting myself in because it takes so much out of me. I am medicated to help me sleep, because without the meds, I wouldn't. I feel so lost and feel like no one understands me anymore. The only thing I do anymore is go to school to change careers. And my grades are suffering a bit. All my instructors have noticed a change in me and do show concern.

Are all these feelings "normal" given the circumstances?

Hi jMa. Welcome to the forum.