• 💖 [Donate To Keep MyPTSD Online] 💖 Every contribution, no matter how small, fuels our mission and helps us continue to provide peer-to-peer services. Your generosity keeps us independent and available freely to the world. MyPTSD closes if we can't reach our annual goal.

Emerg Services No end in sight

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jag65

New Here
Hello All,

I am a 20+ year veteran police officer. My last assignment was the Commander of both the Operations and Support divisions. I left the job just over a year ago. I couldn’t do it anymore. I couldn’t handle the panic attacks, nightmares,anxiety attacks and many more issues any longer. In the end I couldn’t even responded to officers calls for help. That’s when I realized I had to go.

I was in denial for years and hide everything. Not only was my work suffering so was my family life. I put the job before my family and it has taken a hudge toll on my relationship with my wife and kids. Fortunately I have a wonderful wife who did not give up on me.

I have been in weekly therapy for over a year now and have been diagnosed with PTSD and depression. My therapist and I have identified over 20 traumatic events of both personal (one event) and the rest work traumas,

I am on several meds that have helped reduce my symptoms. Frequently, my symptoms flare but are not as intense as before. They sill leave me out of touch with reality.

I am trying towork through all of this but there does not seem to be a light at the end of the tunnel. I feel so overwhelmed, trying to repair the damage I have caused myself and the people closest to me.

I am so stressed and can’t even think about going back to work. I was able to medically retire but I am fighting the cause. They believe my PTSD is not related to the job. I have also applied for Social Security. It’s been 9 months, I have done their testing and still no answer.