• 💖 [Donate To Keep MyPTSD Online] 💖 Every contribution, no matter how small, fuels our mission and helps us continue to provide peer-to-peer services. Your generosity keeps us independent and available freely to the world. MyPTSD closes if we can't reach our annual goal.

Undiagnosed Not Sure If I Have Ptsd?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Joo

New Here
Hi,
im a college freshman and i want to get a professional diagnosis but am to scared to verbally talk about my trauma face to face. im okay with writing it out but the thought of actually telling someone verbally causes me too much anxiety and i dont wish to do so but i really want to know if i actually do have ptsd or if this is all in my head.

while i was still in elementary school, i was raped at my neighborhood park. i remember everything about that day, except how old i was or how he looked like. it didnt really affect me then, mostly because i dont think i understood what had happened to me.

but in middle school we had to watch this educational video on child abuse and sexually assault in health class and i remember being physically scared watching it because everything finally made sense. i felt like i was going pass out and was really nauseous.

ive been having really bad anger outbursts and i think everything just escalated after that point. whenever i got anger i wouldnt just yell, i would throw things randomly. one time i took a chair and threw it down the stairs so hard it smashed the wall. other times i would try and physically harm myself, like hitting my head or slamming my head against the wall repetitively.

ive also had these periods where id randomly start crying or would randomly be scared for no apparent reason whatsoever. like this one time in summer camp where i woke up the entire site because i was so scared i screamed for a good minute.