1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The Daily Dose

Get the last 24hrs of new topics delivered to your inbox.

Click Here to Subscribe

Personality Traits and PTSD

Discussion in 'General' started by She Cat, Aug 15, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. She Cat

She Cat I'm a VIP Premium Member

I have often wondered about this and I finally have the courage and forum to ask others opinion. Not sure just how to word this so stick with me.

I am what I would call a type A personality. A workaholic(although much better and not so bad now) but I used to be awful. I have learned to pace myself better with work. I am the type of person that tackles a job to get it done, and done right. Can't stand to have it done half assed. Can't stop, things have to be done, when they need to be done. I am not a procrastinator.

I find that most people that I (((((personally)))))) know, that have PTSD are similar, and have similar traits. All people don't get PTSD when exposed to trauma, which I find interesting also.

My question I guess is......Does anyone think that because we are this way(if you are too) that it was easier for us to get PTSD, or because we have PTSD we try and compensate and become this way???

I know very confusing and just wondering others thoughts on this.

Thanks,

Wendy

2. Register to participate in live chat, PTSD discussion and more.
  3. nie

nie Wishing for wings to fly. Premium Member Donated

Wendy,

My psychiatrist said she believes that I am that way because of the trauma. That by choosing to be very structured and having to get everything done I am creating a "safe" environment for myself. One that I am in control of so to speak. Just a thought.

Nieccole

melody likes this.
  4. Kathy

Kathy I'm a VIP