• 💖 [Donate To Keep MyPTSD Online] 💖 Every contribution, no matter how small, fuels our mission and helps us continue to provide peer-to-peer services. Your generosity keeps us independent and available freely to the world. MyPTSD closes if we can't reach our annual goal.

Po Boyfriend With Ptsd Recently Broke Up With Me Blames Other Circumstances?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Honda787

New Here
I have a few questions I am new to this whole PTSD thing and I really am not sure if this is 100% the cause for my boyfriend to break up with me it may just be a combination of things. I have been going through a divorce was married for 20 years no kids however while doing so three months ago I met this really great guy or so I thought with the same Christian Values as me. He said all the right things told me how wonderful I was, how beautiful I was how I was his soul mate, ect. I being in a venerable state ate it up like candy! He is a Police Officer and started as one in the Military. He suffers from PTSD and has had custody of his son for the last 15 years who is now 17 and just graduated from high school. His graduation set off what he calls empty nest episode and when I would travel the hour to go see him he would drink the entire weekend I was there to visit him and be a different person than when he would just come visit me for the day. I asked him not to drink when I was around or call when he had been. He didn't respect that and on July 4 was the worst and I we almost broke up, it was to be my husband and I's 20th anniversary and we have signed papers yet so I needed him to kind of be there for me but he chose to drink the entire day. Then that week the Dallas shootings happened and he lost it and started to push me away. I not understanding was trying to be there for him by trying to cheer him up I didn't know that all he really needed was to be left alone. I had no clue was PTSD was and what it meant for him. He said he was in a bad place I tried to unde