1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The Daily Dose

Get the last 24hrs of new topics delivered to your inbox.

Click Here to Subscribe

Police Vet With 19 Years 4 Months With Ptsd Ia Hearing Tomorrow

Discussion in 'Military & Emergency Services' started by David342, Jun 19, 2016.

1. David342

David342 Member

Hi everyone,

I am a 19 year police veteran in North Carolina. I was diagnosed with ptsd in May 2016. I have an Internal Affairs hearing tomorrow for neglect of duty and unfit for duty.

Friday and Rain like this.
  2. Register to participate in live chat, PTSD discussion and more.
  3. scout86

scout86 I'm a VIP Premium Member

Welcome to the forum.

What's likely to happen at the hearing tomorrow? (Hoping for the best for you!)

Rain, Chimera, ladee and 1 other person like this.
  4. David342

David342 Member

Thank you....I will sit at the end of a long table with a Major, Captain, and sargeants. I will get cited for termination. I told the police psychologist that i couldn't do police work anymore and i didn't want to come back. I have been on paid leave since may 6th,2016. I spent a week in a mental hospital for suicidal thoughts and they diagnosed me with ptsd

Rain and scout86 like this.
  5. scout86

That was one of those posts where I debate whether I should "like" it or not....

This sounds like it will be a huge change for you, after devoting so much of your life to this career. I hope this goes down in a way that doesn't reflect badly on you. Getting PTSD is no more your fault than having a career ending injury from a physical confrontation is. I hope they understand that. Any idea what you're going to do now?

tiredtexan, Zoogal, Anarchy and 6 others like this.
  6. David342

David342 Member