1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The Daily Dose

Get the last 24hrs of new topics delivered to your inbox.

Click Here to Subscribe

PTSD For 15 Years - Still Trying to Get Better

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by girlinthemirror, Aug 27, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. girlinthemirror

girlinthemirror New Member

Well this is my first time in any kind of forum online. I have been looking for a support group to join in my area but haven't been able to find one. In some ways, this seems easier. I have had complex ptsd for 15 years. I'm 34, and it started after I was abused in a wilderness camp where I went to work for 3 months when I was 19. Until that abuse, I had been a very successful and high-functioning person with a very bright future, although I also came from a background of family alcoholism and dysfunction. In some ways, I still feel 19 years old or younger.

Although I have tried for years and years and developed better ways to cope, I still feel I am very very far from living the life that I deserve, one that is filled with light and love. Right now I am struggling with the issue of co-dependency in my relationships and a feeling of being isolated and not understood by my family, and also being seen as a colossal disappointment to them.