• 💖 [Donate To Keep MyPTSD Online] 💖 Every contribution, no matter how small, fuels our mission and helps us continue to provide peer-to-peer services. Your generosity keeps us independent and available freely to the world. MyPTSD closes if we can't reach our annual goal.

PTSD for Most of My Life

Status
Not open for further replies.

txmomof3

Learning
As this is my first post here, I am very nervous...but I know talking about things will help. My name is Daphne and as my username suggests...I live in Texas and have three kids. In my previous career, I worked as a pedi nurse, but now I am a stay-at-home-mom.

I have suffered multiple traumas from as far back as I can remember. Things got really bad around age 9 and went downhill from there. Most of my stuff is domestic or sexual, but I have recently had a couple of medical traumas as well.

For the past five years, I have focused so intensely on trying to get physically well that I thought I had gotten through the worst of the PTSD. However, I realized in May, when my Anorexia was back in full force, that I had obviously not learned how to effectively manage my PTSD.

I was amazed when I found this forum today. People who don't have PTSD just don't understand what it is like...just like I can't understand how it affects those around me.

I desperately want to get better, but I am so numb and dissociate so easily that I am afraid I never will. I am so terrified of feeling too much and not being able to turn it off.

I am so glad I found this forum...and was able to convince myself to join and post.

HI Tx,

Welcome to the forum. Glad that you got up the courage to join and post. It a great community, with tons of wonderful people.