1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PTSD From Abusive Relationship

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by soren, Aug 19, 2008.

1. soren

soren New Member

Hello everyone,

I am new also, and hoping to find much needed support here. I have been diagnosed for 11 months now, and still am trying to comprehend it all. My PTSD is from an 18 year abusive marriage that is still in the divorce process. He is still abusing me through the legal system. I have so many triggers that it is nearly impossible for me to earn a living for me and my children, even though I have a college degree. How do other single parent sufferers handle earning a living.

Almost everyone around me just either laughs at my PTSD diagnosis, or tells me it's in my head, or just suck it up and get over it, or quit playing the victim. I cannot find any peers at all that understand my reactions to the triggers. I am hoping to find that connection here.
    Whitneys story likes this.
  2. blue_eyed_angel

blue_eyed_angel New Member

Welcome to the forum Soren :)
    Whitneys story likes this.
  3. piri

piri New Member

Welcome to the forum :smile:

I think you have made a great step to join us! This is the best place to find understanding and comfort. I'm still quite new to this, and I haven't posted so much, but I read a lot, and every day I find new topics about PTSD that I wasn't really aware of.

Maybe the most important thing is to realise that my friends will never understand this, and I've found confidence here to let these friendships fade out! I'm going trough this, and have to live with it every day (and night). I've decided to only keep those friends that accept this.

"Almost everyone around me just either laughs at my PTSD diagnosis, or tells me it's in my head" Yeah! It's in our heads, where else? It's a brain damage! :wink:

love from piri
    gizmo likes this.
  4. piri

piri New Member

Dear Soren...