1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The Daily Dose

Get the last 24hrs of new topics delivered to your inbox.

Click Here to Subscribe

PTSD From Iraq - No Help Given

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by armyed, May 30, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. armyed

armyed New Member

I was diagnosed with PTSD after coming home from Iraq, I have been sick for years with it, I was recently denied compensation after over a year of trying to get financial help and support, I can't seem to even get a job let alone keep one and being a California resident I was also denied unemployment when I came home. I am struggling to keep a roof over my head and eating is another issue, even if I have food, I feel sick to eat it, I lost 30 or more pounds. To say the least, I am stressed. What to do now?? I think I need legal help or just help soon befor I become homeless. Any advice is welcomed, at this point I feel lost and my country has turned it's back to me. Ed

2. Register to participate in live chat, PTSD discussion and more.
  3. hodge

hodge I'm a VIP Premium Member

I am so sorry you're going through this, armyed. I'm American, too, and I am really, really disgusted with the way our government is not taking care of you guys like they are supposed to. Maybe you could try contacting your state and U.S. senators and representatives? Some congresspeople around the country are pretty upset about all this, too. Try Barbara Boxer and Nancy Pelosi maybe? Don't know who your local reps are, but they might be able to help, too.

4. hodge

Here are some links to find contact information for representatives and senators. I would suggest calling them on the phone, if possible. Tell them your situation and see if they can do or suggest anything. That's part of their job! We vote them in to serve us!

To find contact info for your U.S. representative: http://www.house.gov/writerep/