• 💖 [Donate To Keep MyPTSD Online] 💖 Every contribution, no matter how small, fuels our mission and helps us continue to provide peer-to-peer services. Your generosity keeps us independent and available freely to the world. MyPTSD closes if we can't reach our annual goal.

Undiagnosed Ptsd Or Just Temporary Burn-out?

Status
Not open for further replies.

AliceOz

New Here
My (new) therapist speculates I have PTSD. I'm shocked. But I'm open to the possibility that is may be true, even though I'm having a hard time seeing it that way.

I was verbally abused at home as a child, and as a result left home in my early teens. I entered therapy immediately, and continued for many years, on and off as I felt needed. I have no doubt I experienced depression and anxiety during my adolescence while surviving on my own, but came out on top against all odds.

Flash forward over 20 years. I have a very healthy lifestyle combining exercise, good diet, daily meditation and reflection, hobbies, a loving long-term marriage, friendships, extended family circles, successful finance and career, living a comfortable modern life near the beach - I have thoroughly enjoyed my adult life and still do, traveling around the world, learning, growing... all that has lead me to wonderful experiences and connections I'm most grateful for. Hence, the surprise at being told I possibly have PTSD.