1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PTSD Symptom Flare Up for Women PTSD Sufferers

Discussion in 'Symptoms & Other Disorders' started by lnicho7, Jun 3, 2008.

1. lnicho7

lnicho7 New Member

I am new to this forum but I have a question for other women who suffer from PTSD. I have been battling this for about 10 years but only diagnosed 4 years ago. I have made a lot of improvements in the last year which was also coupled with a lot of change and stress. I broke off a very unhealthy 6 year relationship a year ago after moving to a new state with him. I was able to continue working on my master's, support myself and get an apartment. I am very far from my family and support system so I have had many ups and downs. Lately my symptoms are on a good spell-I am in a healthy relationship, I see a professional, sleep is better, little to no nightmares and so on. I would say in the last 3 or more months I have noticed a pattern. My symptoms flare up very badly the week before my menstrual cycle. I know our hormones are going crazy but in the week before I seem to just break down. I avoid talking to my friends and family, I am angry, I feel depersonalized and numb at times, I have the urge to break up from my boyfriend because I want to be alone and I just don't feel anything toward anyone and I have to ask myself if my perceptions of what is going on around me, such as my reactions to others, are realistic-if what I am feeling is real or in my head and that is just so scary to not know what is real. I tend to drink too much in this week, make horrible choices, and the nightmares flood back along with the sleep problems. I was just wondering if other women with PTSD have similar experiences and how they cope with their flare ups at this point.
  2. Cecilia

Cecilia New Member

Inicho7