• 💖 [Donate To Keep MyPTSD Online] 💖 Every contribution, no matter how small, fuels our mission and helps us continue to provide peer-to-peer services. Your generosity keeps us independent and available freely to the world. MyPTSD closes if we can't reach our annual goal.

PTSD Tough Deal - Memories and Triggers

Status
Not open for further replies.

Noone.

MyPTSD Pro
I have to go to work tomorrow so I'm reminded of things every day. I was washing dishes after the morning meal and our window faces the approach {driveway} when I looked out to see a women running toward the engine house carrying something in a blanket, I knew exactly what I would be doing 20 seconds from now. He died in my arms his name was Neal he was 4 months old. That was 1 hour out of 1 day I've been doing this for 15 years I'll drive over that approch tomorrow I'll wash dishes in that sink and I will never forget the loss. Gotta go role call in a few hours be safe.

Remembering things like that must make it hard to do your job sometimes. Do you want to talk more about it?

As a former VFF, I know about the feelings you're having though I do not know specifically about that type of incident or feelings.

You're in my prayers.

I just want to say that you're also in my prayers. I won't pretend to identify with all of the stress that your job puts on you. I can only imagine the sense of powerlessness that one must feel in the situation that you've described.

I grew up in the streets of an inner city, and I've seen friends, die and I've seen people do horrible things to each other.

What helps me is my faith. I don't understand all the where's and whys of life, but I've found that if I focus on my faith it helps a lot. I tend to grow hot and cold in my faith, and it takes a good amount of discipline to practice it at times. When I do practice it I find great comfort in it.

John