1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The Daily Dose

Get the last 24hrs of new topics delivered to your inbox.

Click Here to Subscribe

Public Humiliation Isn't Helping Me

Discussion in 'General' started by CaptainR, Mar 25, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. CaptainR

CaptainR Active Member

I'm new here. Only posted a few times. Just thought I'd vent a moment.

I'm a high ranking cop with 22 years on the job. Suffering from PTSD manifesting itself painfully as major depression for some time now. The past two weeks have been hell. I made the ignorant mistake of self-medicating with alcohol, and was arrested for DUI (two weeks ago yesterday). I thank God that I didn't crash, or hurt someone, and that I was arrested before I could.

As you can imagine, being in the position I'm in this arrest caused even more of a downturn for me than it may have for others. I awoke dangerously suicidal, and if not for my wife arriving in the town I was arrested in to get me before they let me out of jail, I wouldn't be posting (I never called her, she found out where I was with the help of my department). I've since begun anti-depressants and therapy and haven't had even the urge for a drink since. Because of my work history my bosses are supportive. I tried to keep the situation under wraps, but the local paper learned of it, and published a story about it in Friday's edition.

The pain of the public humiliation is stifling. It kills me to think that everyone will believe I'm just another irresponsible public official. They have no way to know what's been going on in my head, what's been tearing away at my life, and I can't tell them. Even if I could, they'd not understand.

None of this makes sense, I suppose. But I thought if anyone can understand what I'm going through because of this disease, it would be others in this forum.