• 💖 [Donate To Keep MyPTSD Online] 💖 Every contribution, no matter how small, fuels our mission and helps us continue to provide peer-to-peer services. Your generosity keeps us independent and available freely to the world. MyPTSD closes if we can't reach our annual goal.

Sexual Assault Report To College?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi all,

I'm a sophomore in college and was in an abusive relationship with someone who goes to my school for about 7 months. He sexually abused me (I think) and I am trying to decide whether to report him.

Long story short, I don't know that I can call what he did to me rape, but he was extremely coercive. I was coming to terms with a past assault when we started dating and wanted to wait to have sex. He apparently did not and employed a number of tactics to convince me to have sex. Some examples: He would punch the wall and storm out, etc. if I asked him to stop during any sort of sexual contact, and I always felt like he would hit me someday (even though he didn't). He would constantly tell me that I was a tease, I was using sex as a weapon, etc. He would make clear that he would leave me if I didn't get over it and have sex with him, etc. It got to the point where I was just afraid of him in general. I wasn't sure when he was going to snap and hit me or snap and kick me out (I was living with him but on no rent....) When I finally broke down and agreed to have sex with him, I sobbed the whole time. He did stop at one point and I told him he could keep going (after saying something like, "I feel like I'm under so much pressure), but only because I was terrified of what the result would be if I didn't let him finish. Things kind of went on like that for months.