• 💖 [Donate To Keep MyPTSD Online] 💖 Every contribution, no matter how small, fuels our mission and helps us continue to provide peer-to-peer services. Your generosity keeps us independent and available freely to the world. MyPTSD closes if we can't reach our annual goal.

Supporter Serious Girlfriend Of An Undiagnosed Sufferer (childhood Rape & Torture)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cimone

New Here
Hi, I'm Cimone. Although I've been in a serious relationship with an undiagnosed PTSD sufferer for well over a year now, I'm just beginning to realize the importance of really understanding his illness and being able to actually be able to help him get through what he's going through.

My boyfriend is naturally a very sweet guy, but he's been through a lot and sometimes he doesn't know how to handle it. We are currently in an LDR--we met over Skype through mutual friends and webcam with each other just about every day. He's my best friend in the whole world, really, as unconventional as that sounds. He is incredibly important to me and I appreciate his presence in the world each and every single day.

The both of us are still in high school. He is a senior and I am a junior; we both achieve slightly above average grades. After my freshman year at university and his second year at his local CC, we have plans to move in together.

After the original tragedy occurred, he only went to therapy for a few months. His parents, being very religiously conservative, did not believe it was right for him to see someone. His father blamed him for what happened. He was only seven years old.

To this very day, he exhibits multiple symptoms of PTSD. He has flashbacks of his abuse, frequently experiences nightmares, isn't able to maintain a steady sleeping schedule, suffers from extreme irrational irritability and anger, occasional suicidal thoughts, and pushes me away when he feels emotionally distraught.